Ash Walsh continues good form in Perth Dunlop Series practice


Media Release – 03.05.2013
Infant’s Friend driver Ash Walsh has given notice that he intends to continue the form that saw him on the podium at the Clipsal 500 with a solid practice run at Barbagallo Raceway in Perth today. In the first 40 minute session Walsh covered 29 laps and finished in a fine 4th place just 2/10ths of a second from P1. The Matt Stone team had benefited from a recent test day and the car was responding well on a very ‘green’ track.

Between the sessions a number of changes were made to Walsh’s Infants Friend FG Falcon, and with team mate George Miedecke also improving the team was hopeful of using both cars’ data to be ready for Qualifying.

The set up changes to the #87 Falcon were not to be to Walsh’s liking, and he decided to finish the practice on old tyres and not waste a set of new ‘green’ Dunlop slicks. With good data from both sessions and Miedecke’s 6th place finish in P2, Walsh is confident of a good showing in Qualifying and Race on Saturday.

Round 2 of the 2013 Dunlop Series will be contested over three races this weekend. Ash Walsh’s Infants Friend Falcon sits second overall in the Championship.

#87 – Ash Walsh – Infants Friend FG Falcon

“The Infants Friend Falcon was good straight out of the truck. We followed up Clipsal with a really good test day so we had hoped to be strong today. We ran on the same set of tyres in P2 so didn’t get the tyre gain of a new set that the other guys got. We did go the wrong way with set up after P1 which was pretty obvious so I decided to save a set of new tyres. Both the Matt Stone cars went in different directions in set up, and Miedecke was closer to the mark with his set up so we will have a good look tonight and get ready for Qualifying in the morning.”

Dunlop Series Point score after Round 1 of 7

1    Chaz Mostert               288

2    Ashley Walsh               279

3    Dale Wood                   267

4    Kristian Lindbom         231

5    George Miedecke        192

6    Aaren Russell               186

7    Taz Douglas                 180