Ash Walsh backed up his first race result with another fine performance in the final race in Round 1 of the 2012 Dunlop Series. The simPRO Falcon driver started the race from P4 but his race was almost over on lap 1 when the car got loose and brushed along the Turn 8 wall. Despite dropping a spot, Walsh as able to continue and for the next few laps made sure that all was OK with the Matt Stone Racing Falcon.

Once again, Walsh proved he could run with the front group despite immense pressure from the cars chasing him. For many laps the car of Rod Jane was close behind, but Walsh was driving smoothly and lapping consistently in the mid 1:24 second bracket. Slowly he edged away and ran in clear air mid race. Around lap 10 both Andrew Jones (BOC Commodore) and Scott Pye (T888 Commodore) started to mount an attack for the Top 5 but Walsh was in control. As the laps ran down, Walsh began to close on 4th placed Luke Youlden but could not bridge the 2 second gap and finally crossed the line in 5th place. A jubilant Matt Stone Racing Team crew were on the pit wall to cheer their new driver home as the chequered flag fell.

“It has been a really good start to the year” a happy Walsh said post race. “We are wrapped to have delivered simPRO a first up top 5 and leave here with a good bag of points. The MSR guys have done a top job and we showed here that we really have a package that can run in the front group. I’m sure we can keep the momentum going to Perth.” Ash commented.

When asked about the first lap incident, Ash said “Yeah, the Turn 8 wall has buried a lot of cars! I got a bit loose, but gathered it up without too much damage. Some days you need a bit of luck!”

Ash Walsh sits in 6th place overall after Round 1 after a 25 point penalty was applied by the Stewards following the incident in Race 1 with David Russell.

After completion of Clipsal 500 Adelaide Street Circuit, Race 1, 01 – 05 March 2012

Pos Driver Name Penalty Total
1 Chaz Mostert 0 300
2 Scott McLaughlin 0 267
3 Nick Percat 0 267
4 Luke Youlden 0 222
5 Scott Pye 0 207
6 Ashley Walsh 25 206
7 Andrew Jones 0 165